Home  /  Businesses  /  Transporter Application Information

Transporter Application Information

What is a transporter license?

Growers, processors, and dispensaries will continue to be issued a transporter license with their business license. Businesses may also apply for a stand-alone commercial transporter license for the purpose of transporting on behalf of other licensed businesses. The application fee is $2,500. Transporters may have multiple warehouses with the submission of one application fee, but a separate application must be submitted for each warehouse from the same online account. Each warehouse location must have a Certificate of Compliance.

What are the basic requirements to be eligible to apply?

  • Applicants must be 25 or older.
  • Individual applicants must be Oklahoma residents.
  • Members, managers, and board members of entity applicants must all be Oklahoma residents.
  • Entities must show that at least 75% ownership held by an Oklahoma resident.
  • All owners and officers must provide a background check; nonviolent felony convictions in the last two years and any other felony conviction in the last five years for any owner will disqualify the applicant.
  • Unless the business entity is a Sole Proprietorship or General Partnership, the applying entity must submit a copy of the Oklahoma Secretary of State’s certificate of good standing document. For more information, visit the Oklahoma Secretary of State at www.sos.ok.gov.
  • Applicants must supply a Certificate of Compliance for their business location
  • No individual with ownership interest in the business can be a sheriff, deputy sheriff, police officer or prosecuting officer, or an officer or employee of OMMA or a municipality in which the commercial entity is located
  • Applicants must supply ownership disclosure documentation
  • Unless the business entity is a Sole Proprietorship or General Partnership, the applying entity must submit a copy of the Oklahoma Secretary of State’s certificate of good standing document. For more information, visit the Oklahoma Secretary of State at www.sos.ok.gov.

Oklahoma residency can be established by providing a digital, color copy of a combination of the following documents that provide proof of Oklahoma residency for the duration of the 2 or 5 years:

  • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
  • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
  • Oklahoma voter identification card
  • Utility bills, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
  • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
  • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
  • Other documentation deemed sufficient by OMMA

Proof of identity can be established by providing a digital, color copy of one of the following unexpired, valid documents:

  • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
  • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
  • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S government
  • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:
  • United States Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or a Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after January 8, 2008.

Each owner will need to supply an Affidavit of Lawful Presence Form and supporting documentation if he or she is not a U.S. citizen.

What is a transporter agent license?

A transporter agent license allows individual employees/owners/agents to transport medical marijuana on behalf of a licensed transporter, including growers, processors, dispensaries and stand-alone transporters. If approved for your license, you will be issued a transporter agent identification for you to carry with you any time you are transporting medical marijuana.

It is important to note that transporter agents must meet the new two or five year residency requirements and that an employer can terminate an agent’s license at any time.

How do I apply and what does it cost?

Transporter agent applications will be available starting August 30, 2019 through the OMMA licensing system. Transporter agents will need to work with the business that is employing them to submit the application. Transporter agent applications must be submitted through an OMMA business account and proof of employment with a licensed transporter (including growers, processors, and dispensaries who are issued a transporter license) is required in the application. The transporter agent license fee is $100 for one year. A separate application and fee will be required for each agent license, if the agent is employed by multiple businesses.

If I’m an owner of a transporter business, do I need a transporter agent card?

Yes, every person who transports medical marijuana will be required to have a transporter agent license. You may fill out the Transporter Agent Employment Verification Form for yourself if needed.

What are the basic requirements to apply?

  • Applicants must be 18 or older
  • Applicants must supply a Transporter Agent Employment Verification Form signed by the employer within 30 days of application
  • Applicants must supply a digital, color copy of the front and back of a valid Oklahoma driver’s license
  • Applicants must supply proof of residency for the 2 years preceding the date of application of 5 continuous years out of the last 25 years preceding the date of application
  • Applicants must provide a background check; nonviolent felony convictions in the last two years and any other felony conviction in the last five years for any owner will disqualify the applicant.
  • Applicants must provide an Affidavit of Lawful Presence
  • Applicants must supply a digital photo that meets OMMA requirements

Oklahoma residency can be established by providing a digital, color copy of a combination of the following documents that provide proof of Oklahoma residency for the duration of the 2 or 5 years:

  • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
  • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
  • Oklahoma voter identification card
  • Utility bills, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
  • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
  • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
  • Other documentation deemed sufficient by OMMA

What happens after I apply?

OMMA has 30 calendar days to review your application. If approved, your agent license will be sent to your employer.

How long does my license last?

Your agent license will be valid from one year from the date of issuance, unless terminated by the associated employer or revoked by OMMA.